Barangay Jagobiao


Jagobiao. The name origin of Jagobiao comes from a river that bounded the present barangay by the same name and the town of Consolacion. The name comes from the combination of the Cebuano words Hago (tiresome) and Biao (river). In the past, this river was deep and wide contrary to its current state as something like a mere creek. This river connects to the dried-up creek of Casili and is located at the foot of the hillside at the northern portion of the barangay. From the corner of Alinsug Street, one can see that the terrain of Dunggu-an, the boundary of barangays Basak and Jagobiao, is going uphill. But when he reaches the top, it is the reverse, and the river is downhill.

In the early days, citizens of this barangay went down the hill to the river to bathe and to wash their clothes by its banks. Having done their ablutions and the wash of the day, the folks had to hike up the hill back to where they came from. The weary women had to climb up the hill with their wash, now heavy with water. The climb uphill was, of course, tiresome (thus the hago), and the people began to say of the river (The biao part) as hago (tiresome). The people complained of its location saying, “Aguy, pwerting ka hagong bi-aoa” (Goodness, what a tiresome river). Hagong biaoa, became the river’s moniker and would remain so until the Spanish era when the letter “H” was changed to “J”. The river was also a landmark and gave the place its name. The moniker Hagong biao contracted and evolved to Jagobiao.


Barangay Officials

Barangay Captain : Masinas, Michael Oro

1st Councilor : Alburo, Emilio Lubas

2nd Councilor : Lim, Elsa C.

3rd Councilor : Valoncia, Matilde

4th Councilor : Almendras, Marydith Montesa

5th Councilor : Diagico, Letecia

6th Councilor : Cataylo, Allan Lopez

7th Councilor : Montesa, Maria Edita

Sangguniang Kabataan Officials

SK Chairman : Rivera, Noel Angelo Vidal

1st Councilor: Gocotano, Mariella Trigosa

2nd Councilor: Bacus, Fritzie Mainit

3rd Councilor: Ybañez, Divine Grace Padayon

4th Councilor: Barrega, Paul Karol A.

5th Councilor: Godinez, Mark Edison Jabas

6th Councilor: Yungob, Shella Jane Bael

7th Councilor: Coles, Honey Mae Layasan