Barangay Pagsabungan


Pagsabungan. In the old days there were few recreational activities that people could join in; one of them was cockfighting sabung, cockfighting without blades attached to the roosters. Pagsabungan , in the far north of the town, was then the center for such an activity, way before Mandaue Coliseum, Floremer, and Revero. Besides the popular cock fights, the place also bred and sold these bellicose roosters along with the supplies intended for their optimum maintenance. It seems that cockfighting was indeed the favorite pastime of its citizens). So, although it was once merely a sitio of the barrio of Basak, it was a center of activity.

It is said that the real cockfighting, called buwang or pagtari, used to be done near the ancestral house of Julio Cabahug today and the gaming enthusiasts came from near or far  (from Mandaue proper and  from Consolacion), traversing the lovely barrio roads just to get there. When they were asked where they were going or where they had been, these folks would reply: “Pagsabungan” or “the cockfighting venue”. The answer became a byword and the name of the sitio. Through the efforts of its leaders, it was separated from Basak in the late 1960s.

The HDP accounts that Pagsabungan was the home of witches (ungo) and every night at the stroke of eight, they would come out and fight each other because of their show number. The fighting was like the sabung or cockfight. So numerous were they that the citizens of the bordering barrio of Canduman also became witches. One could tell them apart by the many sweet bo-ongon or pomelo trees (Citrus maxim) in their yards. They were said to be the owners of these orchards.


                   Barangay Officials

                                 Barangay Captain :  Suson, Asterio Judilla 

                                                                     1st Councilor  :Yares, Elizabeth Maribong                                 

                                                            2nd Councilor  : Judilla, Atilano Seno, Jr.                            

                                3rd Councilor : Judilla, Ismael Macasero

                            4th Councilor :Congson, Roland Suson

                                          5th Councilor :Montecillo, Raquiel Branzuela

                                6th Councilor :Cotejo, Carlo Jesus Reyes

                        7th Councilor :Elbiña, Maxima Judilla

                  Sangguniang Kabataan Officials

                     SK Chairman :Suson, Joane Moncano 

                         1st Councilor: Bontilao, Julie-ann Canoy

                            2nd Councilor: Surbano, Nelson Canoy, Jr.

              3rd Councilor: Judilla, Bing Tabal, Jr.

                              4th Councilor: Judilla, Maria Anacel Añasco

                       5th Councilor: Cabatingan, Ronel Tejana

                      6th Councilor: Judaya, Leonel Branzuela

                         7th Councilor: Javier, Sonia Grace Dimpas